Guided Heritage Walk of Toowong Cemetery – 7 October 2012

On Sunday, 7 October 2012 a tour of selected police graves at the Toowong Cemetery was conducted by Hilda McLean, the President of the Friends of the Toowong Cemetery. Approximately thirty interested persons attended. These included representatives from the Friends of the Toowong Cemetery Association, Friends of the Queensland Police Museum and the Queensland Police Museum. FQPM President Bob Burns, Committee Member Ian Townsley his wife Christine and member Bryan Silvester, together with the Curator of the QPM, Lisa Jones enjoyed the tour.

The tour was of great interest to those who attended and it revealed that some of the graves were either without headstones or were in need of restoration. These graves may be considered as future projects by the FQPM Management Committee.

The following graves were visited:

Christopher Francis, Police Magistrate 1840 – 1915
Henry Bloomfield Gough, Police Magistrate 1845 – 1896
Octavius Armstrong, Police Magistrate 1833 – 1917
Robert Arthur Johnstone, Sub-Inspector Native Police and Explorer 1843 – 1905
Ernest Eglinton, Sub-Inspector 1849 – 1921
William Maguire, Sub-Inspector 1859 – 1917
Thomas Hinch, Sergeant 1855 – 1924
William Ferguson, Inspector First Class 1862 – 1945
John Hanly, Sergeant 1857 – 1935
John Ahern, Inspector First Class (of brands) 1840 – 1893
William Harold Ryan, Commissioner 1873 – 1954
Henry Marjoribanks Chester, Police Magistrate 1832- 1914
Patrick Clancy, Senior Constable 1837 – 1899
Matthew Collopy, Inspector First Class 1844- 1880
Joseph Kelly, Constable 1858 – 1878
Thomas Slattery, Inspector of Detectives 1824 – 1878

Police grave tour at Toowong Cemetery. L-R: Bryan Silvester, Lisa Jones, Hilda Maclean (Friends of Toowong Cemetery), Christine Townsley, Ian Townsley, Bob Burns.

Proudly sponsored by:

Queensland Police Union of Employees


Queensland Police Commissioned Officers' Union of Employees


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This